Gangland Dreams

It’s been a while since I had such a vivid dream like the one I had last night, so I’m going to pen it down:

A mentor of mine was the gang leader and passed the baton to me when he stepped down. Being only a young-ish woman, it was thought I wouldn’t get the respect and discipline I needed. My mentor even had a phone conversation with one of the seniors in the gang, hinting that he thought I would never be as good as he was. However, I was strong and many respected me as the leader. I loved being in this position and didn’t falter in my ambitions once.

There was an internal group that opposed me, and I held secret meetings (in my parents’ old house’s bathroom…) to discuss how to overthrow them. The meetings never stayed secret long though, and a few of the opposing members threatened me in a sexual manner. I especially feared one – Furio from The Sopranos – because I knew he was not afraid of consequences. Another guy got confused while threatening me because his emotions started to seep in.

Being in a position of leadership, people from the public blamed me for a string of grievances. Only 2 were true; the rest were all rubbish and I did not hesitate to dismiss them brusquely. Of the true stories, one was a woman who was angry that I had had an affair with her husband some years ago. They currently had 2 sons and she was also pregnant again. I wanted to make peace with her and I eventually did succeed with my sincerity.

During one of our times together, her husband pretended his hand had been sliced off. As this was something that happened commonly during gang activities, I believed it to be true and my chest started hurting as it does in real life when I get stressed.

It hurt more and more, and I woke up.

Leave a Reply

